Why great blogging is like good exercising

I posted a lot on this blog all across 2008 & 2009 and for various reasons slowed it down to a trickle in 2010. And in so doing committed a cardinal sin of blogging. Inconsistency. A number of regular readers made a few quiet comments on the falling rate of posts. And when nothing changed, left.

Blogging, like exercising should be a sustainable activity. The simplest way to assess whether you are doing too much or too little exercise is to ask yourself the simple question : ‘how much exercise can I expect to reasonably do when I am 65 years old?”. Whatever the answer is, is  how much you should do today. And so with blogging.

I think my sustainable limit is 1 to 3  posts a week. I shall try to adhere to it.

6 thoughts on “Why great blogging is like good exercising

  1. Hi Hari,

    Yup, regular blogging is a lot like exercising… and the best part is once you are done with your session (blogging or exercising), the high that you experience – great feeling..

    Nice simile…

    Regards,
    Revathi

  2. @revathi – thanks.

    @anil – yes, there is that of course. On the other hand, the hope is that thoughtful pieces of prose that are ‘valuable’ in some way will survive. Maybe I am being too optimistic..

  3. You are right – I too had not visited your blog for a while. Nice to see you back.
    Well, the reason I did drop by today is that I was going through the theme vacations at holidayiq, and was thinking that another useful option would be suggested itineraries. I have often struggled with what places to visit together, how to string them along, optimizing time etc. What do you think? I promise to contribute my own itineraries.

  4. Like Revathi said: “Regular blogging is a lot like exercising… and the best part is once you are done with your session (blogging or exercising), the high that you experience – great feeling..” With me the same applies to blogging not really to exercising. 😛

    Good posts, keep em coming!

Leave a Reply

