Do not fly Paramount Airways

Rumour had it that Paramount airways was good on service, so I decided to desert Jet Airways for once on my trip to Chennai. Bad idea. I got a call late at night from Paramount airways saying that my next morning’s flight to Chennai was ‘cancelled for commercial reasons’, which all of us know means they did not get enough passengers for them to feel obliged to operate the flight.

So, I dug a bit deeper. Seems this is a frequent occurrence. Many people I know in Chennai now tell me that the on-board service in Paramount is good – provided, you are lucky enough for the flight to actually operate.

For an airline that says it focuses on the business traveller, this seems a pretty rough reputation to acquire. Avoid it, if you need to defintely get to your destination on the date/time planned. If you are flying for a lark, it is of course a different matter.

2 thoughts on “Do not fly Paramount Airways

  1. Edit : Within no time of posting my views on my cancelled flight on Paramount, I got two comments. Anyone who has spent any real time on the net will wonder at the speed, diligence and absolute certainty (and indeed the similarity of tone) of both these comments. I am therefore letting these comments in, so that readers can form their own judgement about them.

    I strongly disagree with you on Paramount Airways. It is certainly one of the best airlines in India and have been personally experiencing the product. It is unfortunate that your first flight on it was cancelled, but I must say that I find them very reliable. I am also a member of thier FFP called Paramount Royale and love this airline. The only complaint is that thier operation is limited to south India barring very few routes in the west and I hope they provide more connectivity to other major cities, which will make the FFP more meaningfull. Also thier food served on board is the only edible airline food I have ever had in a domestic Indian carrier. Cheers !

  2. Edit : Within no time of posting my views on my cancelled flight on Paramount, I got two comments. Anyone who has spent any real time on the net will wonder at the speed, diligence and absolute certainty (and indeed the similarity of tone) of both these comments. I am therefore letting these comments in, so that readers can form their own judgement about them.

    Hi, I don’t agree with your review. Flight cancellations are inconvenient and create a hell of trouble, especially if the airline doesn’t bother to put you on another flight. However, I’ve flown Paramount 30-40 times on official work and for personal reasons, these past two years. Not one flight that I’ve taken has been cancelled and it’s an extremely comfortable way to travel. I use the Southern network a lot, mostly Hyderabad, Bangalore, Madurai and quite recently, the Ahmedabad sectors. Their services are a world class above Jet and King Fisher. Good hot meals, stunning hostesses and great friendly staff. I’ve also found the cabins extremely clean and the flight timings reliable. I’ve been taken on in their frequent flier programme recently and it’s good.

    I’d definitely recommend this airline. Cheers!
    Saravanan

Leave a Reply

