‘Meme’orabilia

Madhuri taggged me with a meme. Since I had no clue what a meme was, I Googled it up and found as follows on wikipedia:

Internet meme – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The Hampster Dance [sic] is one of the first widely distributed Internet memes and illustrates the characteristic silliness of much of the genre. …”

Sounded very promising (I kinda like things that are characteristically silly) and so I gave up my objections to displaying my travel photos – in general it is a physical impossibility since I rarely take any – to show you two that got took.

The meme is to display a particularly favourite photo and write something about it. Here are 2.

The first picture is of my elder son intently taking archery lessons from a tribal man deep in the plantation hinterland of Wayanad in northern Kerala.

archery_lessons_small.jpg

The second photo below is of my younger ‘un floating away among the coral reefs in the lagoon in Agatti Island, Lakshadweep. Easily the most magical place I have been to so far.

lakshadweep_small.jpg

Travelling is undoubtedly the best education you can get. And the cool part is you can start very early and need never stop.

While I am generally loath to send chain stuff to others, here is an exception. The meme says I should send it to 5 people which is waaay beyond me. So I am sending it on to Shantanu.

Shantanu, the meme says:

All you have to do is select and upload one photo that you have clicked this year that is special to you. Could be anything…aesthetic, technical or personal. Also, put in a short note why it is special.

2 thoughts on “‘Meme’orabilia

  1. Thanks Hari. I have not been to Wayanad, and plan to do that sometime as part of an extensive Kerala tour. I have not been to Agatti either, but have been to three other islands in Lakshadweep and loved every moment of the trip.

Leave a Reply

